What? Why? Which? 210 Questions Jesus Asked

so-many-questions

When Jesus was here on earth, He asked A LOT of questions. Being fully human, it would have been weird for Him never to ask anyone anything. But since He was also fully God, I guess it’s safe to say that all His questions were rhetorical because He already knew the answers to them. He questioned His parents (Why were you searching for me? Didn’t you know I had to be in my Father’s house?). He questioned His disciples (You of little faith, why are you so afraid?). He even questioned God (My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?).

Below are 210 questions asked by Jesus the Christ Himself:

What do you want? (John 1:38)

Woman, why do you involve me? (John 2:4)

Why were you searching for me? Didn’t you know I had to be in my Father’s house? (Mark 2:49)

Which is lawful on the Sabbath: to do good or to do evil, to save life or to kill? (Mark 3:4, Luke 6:9, Luke 14:3)

You are Israel’s teacher and do you not understand these things? (John 3:10)

I have spoken to you of earthly things and you do not believe; how then will you believe if I speak of heavenly things? (John 3:12)

Will you give me a drink? (John 4:7)

Don’t you have a saying, ‘It’s still four months until harvest’? (John 4:35)

Do you bring in a lamp to put it under a bowl or a bed? Instead, don’t you put it on its stand? (Mark 4:21)

What shall we say the kingdom of God is like, or what parable shall we use to describe it? (Mark 4:30, Luke 13:18, Luke 13:20)

Do you want to get well? (John 5:6)

What is your name? (Mark 5:9, Luke 8:30)

But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? (Matthew 5:13, Mark 9:50, Luke 14:34)

Who touched my clothes? (Mark 5:30, Luke 8:45)

Why all this commotion and wailing? (Mark 5:39)

How can you believe since you accept glory from one another but do not seek the glory that comes from the only God ? (John 5:44)

If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? (Matthew 5:46, Luke 6:32)

And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that? (Matthew 5:47)

But since you do not believe what he wrote, how are you going to believe what I say? (John 5:47)

Where shall we buy bread for these people to eat? (John 6:5)

Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? (Matthew 6:25)

Are you not much more valuable than they? (Matthew 6:26)

Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? (Matthew 6:27, Luke 12:25)

Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest? (Luke 12:26)

And why do you worry about clothes? (Matthew 6:28)

If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? (Matthew 6:30)

And if you do good to those who are good to you, what credit is that to you? (Luke 6:33)

And if you lend to those from whom you expect repayment, what credit is that to you? (Luke 6:33)

Can the blind lead the blind? Will they not both fall into a pit? (Luke 6:39)

Why do you call me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say? (Luke 6:46)

Does this offend you? (John 6:61)

You do not want to leave too, do you? (John 6:67)

Have I not chosen you, the Twelve? (John 6:70)

Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? (Matthew 7:3, Luke 6:41)

How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? (Matthew 7:4, Luke 6:42)

Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? (Matthew 7:9, Luke 11:11)

Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? (Matthew 7:10, Luke 11:12)

If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him? (Matthew 7:11)

Do people pick grapes from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? (Matthew 7:16)

Are you so dull? Don’t you see that nothing that enters a person from the outside can defile them? (Mark 7:18)

Has not Moses given you the law? Yet not one of you keeps the law. Why are you trying to kill me? (John 7:19)

Now if a boy can be circumcised on the Sabbath so that the law of Moses may not be broken, why are you angry with me for healing a man’s whole body on the Sabbath? (John 7:23)

You foolish people! Did not the one who made the outside make the inside also? (Luke 11:40)

Now which of them will love him more? (Luke 7:42)

Do you see this woman? (Luke 7:44)

Why does this generation ask for a sign? (Mark 8:12)

Do you see anything? (Mark 8:23)

You of little faith, why are you so afraid? (Matthew 8:26, Mark 4:40, Luke 8:25)

Why is my language not clear to you? (John 8:43)

Can any of you prove me guilty of sin? If I am telling the truth, why don’t you believe me? (John 8:46)

Why do you entertain evil thoughts in your hearts? (Matthew 9:4, Mark 2:8, Luke 5:22)

Which is easier: to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or to say, ‘Get up and walk’? (Matthew 9:5, Mark 2:9, Luke 5:23)

Why then is it written that the Son of Man must suffer much and be rejected? (Mark 9:12)

How can the guests of the bridegroom mourn while he is with them? (Matthew 9:15, Mark 2: 19, Luke 5:34)

What are you arguing with them about? (Mark 9:16)

How long has he been like this? (Mark 9:21)

Do you believe that I am able to do this? (Matthew 9:28)

What were you arguing about on the road? (Mark 9:33)

Do you believe in the Son of Man? (John 9:35)

What did Moses command you? (Mark 10:3)

What is written in the Law? How do you read it? (Luke 10:26)

Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? (Matthew 10:29, Luke 12:6)

I have shown you many good works from the Father. For which of these do you stone me? (John 10:32)

Is it not written in your Law, ‘I have said you are “gods”‘? (John 10:34)

What about the one whom the Father set apart as his very own and sent into the world? Why then do you accuse me of blasphemy because I said, ‘I am God’s Son’? (Jochn 10:36)

What do you want me to do for you? (Mark 10:36, Mark 10:51, Luke 18:41)

Which of these three do you think was a neighbor to the man who fell into the hands of robbers? (Luke 10:36)

Can you drink the cup I drink or be baptized with the baptism I am baptized with? (Mark 10:38)

What did you go out into the wilderness to see? A reed swayed by the wind? (Matthew 11:7, Luke 7:24)

If not, what did you go out to see? A man dressed in fine clothes? (Matthew 11:8, Luke 7:25)

Then what did you go out to see? A prophet? (Matthew 11:9, Luke 7:26)

Are there not twelve hours of daylight? (John 11:9)

To what can I compare this generation? (Matthew 11:16, Luke 7:31)

Is it not written: ‘My house will be called a house of prayer for all nations’? (Mark 11:17)

And you, Capernaum, will you be lifted to the heavens? (Matthew 11:23, Luke 10:15)

Do you believe this? (John 11:26)

Where have you laid him? (John 11:34)

Did I not tell you that if you believe, you will see the glory of God? (John 11:40)

Haven’t you read what David did when he and his companions were hungry? (Matthew 12:3, Mark 2:25, Luke 6:3)

Or haven’t you read in the Law that the priests on Sabbath duty in the temple desecrate the Sabbath and yet are innocent? (Matthew 12:5)

If any of you has a sheep and it falls into a pit on the Sabbath, will you not take hold of it and lift it out? (Matthew 12:11, Luke 14:5)

How much more valuable is a person than a sheep? (Matthew 12:12)

Man, who appointed me a judge or an arbiter between you? (Luke 12:14)

Are you not in error because you do not know the Scriptures or the power of God? (Mark 12:24)

If Satan drives out Satan, he is divided against himself. How then can his kingdom stand? (Matthew 12:26, Mark 3:23, Luke 11:18)

And if I drive out demons by Beelzebul, by whom do your people drive them out? (Matthew 12:27, Luke 11:19)

Now my soul is troubled, and what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? (John 12:27)

Or again, how can anyone enter a strong man’s house and carry off his possessions unless he first ties up the strong man? (Matthew 12:29)

You brood of vipers, how can you who are evil say anything good? (Matthew 12:34)

Who is my mother, and who are my brothers? (Matthew 12:48, Mark 3:33)

Do you think I came to bring peace on earth? (Luke 12:51)

How is it that you don’t know how to interpret this present time? (Luke 12:56)

Why don’t you judge for yourselves what is right? (Luke 12:57)

Do you see all these great buildings? (Mark 13:2)

Do you think that these Galileans were worse sinners than all the other Galileans because they suffered this way? (Luke 13:2)

Or those eighteen who died when the tower in Siloam fell on them—do you think they were more guilty than all the others living in Jerusalem? (Luke 13:4)

Do you understand what I have done for you? (John 13:12)

You hypocrites! Doesn’t each of you on the Sabbath untie your ox or donkey from the stall and lead it out to give it water? (Luke 13:15)

Then should not this woman, a daughter of Abraham, whom Satan has kept bound for eighteen long years, be set free on the Sabbath day from what bound her? (Luke 13:16)

Have you understood all these things? (Matthew 13:51, Mark 4:13)

Will you really lay down your life for me? (John 13:38)

My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? (John 14:2)

Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? (John 14:9)

Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? (John 14:9)

Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? (John 14:10)

The Teacher asks: Where is my guest room, where I may eat the Passover with my disciples? (Mark 14:14, Luke 22:11)

Suppose one of you wants to build a tower. Won’t you first sit down and estimate the cost to see if you have enough money to complete it? (Luke 14:28)

Why did you doubt? (Matthew 14:31)

Or suppose a king is about to go to war against another king. Won’t he first sit down and consider whether he is able with ten thousand men to oppose the one coming against him with twenty thousand? (Luke 14:31)

And why do you break the command of God for the sake of your tradition? (Matthew 15:3)

Or suppose a woman has ten silver coins and loses one. Doesn’t she light a lamp, sweep the house and search carefully until she finds it? (Luke 15:8)

Are you still so dull? (Matthew 15:16)

Don’t you see that whatever enters the mouth goes into the stomach and then out of the body? (Matthew 15:17)

How many loaves do you have? (Matthew 15:34, Mark 6:38, Mark 8:5)

You of little faith, why are you talking among yourselves about having no bread? (Matthew 16:8, Mark 8:17)

Do you have eyes but fail to see, and ears but fail to hear? And don’t you remember? (Mark 8:18)

Do you still not understand? Don’t you remember the five loaves for the five thousand, and how many basketfuls you gathered? (Matthew 16:9, Mark 8:19)

Or the seven loaves for the four thousand, and how many basketfuls you gathered? (Matthew 16:10, Mark 8:20)

How is it you don’t understand that I was not talking to you about bread? (Matthew 16:11, Mark 8:21)

So if you have not been trustworthy in handling worldly wealth, who will trust you with true riches? (Luke 16:11)

And if you have not been trustworthy with someone else’s property, who will give you property of your own? (Luke 16:12)

Who do people say the Son of Man is? (Matthew 16:13, Mark 8:27, Luke 9:18)

But what about you? Who do you say I am? (Matthew 16:15, Mark 8:29, Luke 9:20)

What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul? (Matthew 16:26, Mark 8:36-37, Luke 9:25)

Are you asking one another what I meant when I said, ‘In a little while you will see me no more, and then after a little while you will see me’? (John 16:19)

Do you now believe? (John 16:31)

Will he thank the servant because he did what he was told to do? (Luke 17:9)

How long shall I stay with you? How long shall I put up with you? (Matthew 17:17, Mark 9:19, Luke 9:41)

Were not all ten cleansed? Where are the other nine? Has no one returned to give praise to God except this foreigner? (Luke 17:17-18)

From whom do the kings of the earth collect duty and taxes—from their own children or from others? (Matthew 17:25)

And will not God bring about justice for his chosen ones, who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off? (Luke 18:7)

However, when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on the earth? (Luke 18:8)

What do you think? If a man owns a hundred sheep, and one of them wanders away, will he not leave the ninety-nine on the hills and go to look for the one that wandered off? (Matthew 18:12, Luke 15:3)

Haven’t you read that at the beginning the Creator ‘made them male and female,’ and said, ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh’? (Matthew 19:4-5)

Why do you ask me about what is good? (Matthew 19:17, Mark 10:18, Luke 18:19)

What is it you want? (Matthew 20:21)

Can you drink the cup I am going to drink? (Matthew 20:22)

What do you want me to do for you? (Matthew 20:32)

Yes, have you never read, ‘From the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise’? (Matthew 21:16)

John’s baptism—where did it come from? Was it from heaven, or of human origin? (Matthew 21:25, Mark 11:30, Luke 20:4)

What do you think? (Matthew 21:28)

Which of the two did what his father wanted? (Matthew 21:31)

Therefore, when the owner of the vineyard comes, what will he do to those tenants? (Matthew 21:40, Mark 12:9, Luke 20:15)

Have you never read in the Scriptures: ‘The stone the builders rejected has become the cornerstone; the Lord has done this, and it is marvelous in our eyes’? (Matthew 21:42, Mark 12:10-11, Luke 20:17)

You hypocrites, why are you trying to trap me? (Matthew 22:18, Mark 12:15)

Whose image is this? And whose inscription? (Matthew 22:20, Mark 12:16, Luke 20:24)

For who is greater, the one who is at the table or the one who serves? Is it not the one who is at the table? (Luke 22:27)

But about the resurrection of the dead—have you not read what God said to you, ‘I am the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob’? (Matthew 22:31-32, Mark 12:26)

When I sent you without purse, bag or sandals, did you lack anything? (Luke 22:35)

What do you think about the Messiah? Whose son is he? (Matthew 22:42)

How is it then that David, speaking by the Spirit, calls him ‘Lord’? (Matthew 22:43)

Why do the teachers of the law say that the Messiah is the son of David? (Mark 12:35, Luke 20:41)

If then David calls him ‘Lord,’ how can he be his son? (Matthew 22:45, Mark 12:37, Luke 20:44)

You blind fools! Which is greater: the gold, or the temple that makes the gold sacred? (Matthew 23:17)

You blind men! Which is greater: the gift, or the altar that makes the gift sacred? (Matthew 23:19)

You snakes! You brood of vipers! How will you escape being condemned to hell? (Matthew 23:33)

Do you see all these things? (Matthew 24:2)

Who then is the faithful and wise servant, whom the master has put in charge of the servants in his household to give them their food at the proper time? (Matthew 24:45, Luke 12:42)

Why are you bothering this woman? (Matthew 26:10, Mark 14:6)

Who is it you want? (John 18:4, John 18:7)

Couldn’t you men keep watch with me for one hour? (Matthew 26:40, Mark 14:37)

Are you still sleeping and resting? (Matthew 26:45, Mark 14:41, Luke 22:46)

Judas, are you betraying the Son of Man with a kiss? (Luke 22:48)

Do you think I cannot call on my Father, and he will at once put at my disposal more than twelve legions of angels? (Matthew 26:53)

But how then would the Scriptures be fulfilled that say it must happen in this way? (Matthew 26:54)

Shall I not drink the cup the Father has given me? (John 18:11)

Am I leading a rebellion, that you have come out with swords and clubs to capture me? (Matthew 26:55, Mark 14:48, Luke 22:52)

For if people do these things when the tree is green, what will happen when it is dry? (Luke 23:31)

Why question me? (John 18:21)

But if I spoke the truth, why did you strike me? (John 18:23)

Is that your own idea or did others talk to you about me? (John 18:34)

Eli, Eli, lemasabachthani? / My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? (Matthew 27:46, Mark 15:34)

Woman, why are you crying? Who is it you are looking for? (John 20:15)

What are you discussing together as you walk along? (Luke 24:17)

What things? (Luke 24:19)

Did not the Messiah have to suffer these things and then enter his glory? (Luke 24:26)

Why are you troubled, and why do doubts rise in your minds? (Luke 24:38)

Do you have anything here to eat? (Luke 24:41)

Friends, haven’t you any fish? (John 21:5)

Simon son of John, do you love me more than these? (John 21:15, 16, 17)

If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you? (John 21:22)

Saul, Saul, why do you persecute me? (Acts 9:4, Acts 22:7)

Leave a Reply

