1 Year In God’s Word: Day 270 — Isaiah 41-42, Romans 7

year-in-Gods-Word-day-270

Isaiah 41
Focus Verse: I took you from the ends of the earth, from its farthest corners I called you. I said, ‘You are my servant’; I have chosen you and have not rejected you. (9)

God often calls the most unlikely, uncertain people to be His servants and carry out the work of His kingdom. Whoever He chooses, He will not forsake or reject. He will walk with us every single step of the journey that He calls us to take. He will strengthen us when we get weak, help us when we falter, and uphold us when we stumble.

Isaiah 42
Focus Verse: To open eyes that are blind, to free captives from prison and to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness. (7)

As His followers, God has called us to be people who walk in righteousness. We are to be a light to those who walk in darkness. We are to bring the freedom of Christ to those who remain captives of sin.

Romans 7
Focus Verse: For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. (18)

I often find myself in a state like Paul. I want to do the right thing, but end up doing just the opposite. The good that I know I should do, I do not do and the bad that I know I should not do, I do. Because of my sin nature, I cannot do the right thing on my own. I must ask God daily for His help. Any good that I do is credited to Him Who lives in me.

One thought on “1 Year In God’s Word: Day 270 — Isaiah 41-42, Romans 7

  1. Pingback: Finished! 365 Days, 52 Weeks, 1 Year In God’s Word | The Virtuous Girls

Leave a Reply

