1 Year In God’s Word: Day 286 — Micah 6-7, Acts 22

year-in-Gods-Word-day-286

Micah 6
Focus Verse: He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God. (8)

It is not our outward sacrifices that please God. He is also not pleased by how much money we dump in the offering plate. God is pleased with hearts that are devoted to Him and that show their love for Him by striving to obey Him. He is pleased with people who act justly, love mercy and walk humbly with Him.

Micah 7
Focus Verse: Do not gloat over me, my enemy! Though I have fallen, I will rise. Though I sit in darkness, the Lord will be my light. (8)

When things do not go well for Christians, when bad things happen to good people, there will always be those who ask in contempt: “Where is the Lord your God?” To this question we can answer, “Though I have fallen, I will rise. Though I sit in darkness, the Lord will be my light.” Just because we cannot see Him or cannot hear Him, does not mean that God is not there. There will be dark moments in life when God seems to have disappeared, but that does not give us reason to lose faith or to question His goodness.

Throughout the Psalms, we read of times when David was downcast. Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? He was honest about his feelings and the negative circumstances he was going through. But David was also determined to trust in the Lord come what may. As for me, I will always have hope; I will praise you more and more.

Acts 22
Focus Verse: When they heard him speak to them in Aramaic, they became very quiet. Then Paul said (2)

This wasn’t the first time that Paul had shared his testimony. He knew what kind of mean, cruel person he had been before he was saved. He knew that God had changed his life completely. He was unafraid and unashamed to share his testimony even before a hostile audience. Each one of us has a testimony to tell. It may not be as dramatic as Paul’s, but it is just as powerful. God gave you a story to share. Don’t be afraid to share it.

One thought on “1 Year In God’s Word: Day 286 — Micah 6-7, Acts 22

  1. Pingback: Finished! 365 Days, 52 Weeks, 1 Year In God’s Word | The Virtuous Girls

Leave a Reply

