1 Year In God’s Word: Day 291 — Jeremiah 1-2, Acts 26

year-in-Gods-Word-day-291

Jeremiah 1
Focus Verse: “Alas, Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.” (6)

Before we were formed in our mothers’ wombs, God knew us. Before we were born, He called us by name. He may not have appointed us to be prophets to the nations like Jeremiah, but He has appointed us to do something for Him and He doesn’t want to hear any excuses from us about what He has called us to do.

Moses told God, “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue. Please send someone else.” God wouldn’t hear of it. He told Moses, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.”

Gideon told God’s angel, “Pardon me, my lord, but how can I save Israel? My clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my family.” God wouldn’t hear of it. He told his angel to tell Gideon, “I will be with you, and you will strike down all the Midianites, leaving none alive.”

Jeremiah told God, “Alas, Sovereign Lord, I do not know how to speak; I am too young.” God wouldn’t hear of it. He told Jeremiah, “Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you.”

If God has told us to do something, we shouldn’t look at our lack of experience or our impediments. We shouldn’t focus on our weakness or our age or our past. We only need to focus on God. He will help us. He will be with us.

Jeremiah 2
Focus Verse: This is what the Lord says: “What fault did your ancestors find in me, that they strayed so far from me? They followed worthless idols and became worthless themselves. (5)

No fault can be found in God by those who stray from Him; the fault can only be found in themselves. We will not find our worth in money, a relationship, ourselves or another religion. Our worth can only be found in Jesus the Christ. God thought we were/are worth the death of His only begotten Son.

Acts 26
Focus Verse: Paul replied, “Short time or long—I pray to God that not only you but all who are listening to me today may become what I am, except for these chains.” (29)

The story is told of how George Mueller began praying for five of his friends one day. After many months, one of them came to the Lord. Ten years later, two others were converted. It took 25 years before the fourth man was saved. Mueller persevered in prayer until his death for the fifth friend, and throughout those 52 years he never gave up hoping that he would accept Christ! His faith was rewarded, for soon after Mueller’s funeral the last one was saved.

Along with sharing our faith, the greatest thing we can do for the unsaved is to pray for them to come to know Jesus the Christ as their Savior. Whether it takes one day or one year or ten years, never stop praying for the salvation of others that they may become what you and I are – children of God.

2 thoughts on “1 Year In God’s Word: Day 291 — Jeremiah 1-2, Acts 26

  1. Pingback: Finished! 365 Days, 52 Weeks, 1 Year In God’s Word | The Virtuous Girls

Leave a Reply

