1 Year In God’s Word: Day 293 — Jeremiah 6, Jeremiah 11-12, Acts 27:27-44

year-in-Gods-Word-day-293

Jeremiah 6
Focus Verse: To whom can I speak and give warning? Who will listen to me? Their ears are closed so they cannot hear. The word of the Lord is offensive to them; they find no pleasure in it. (10)

There isn’t anything wrong with us finding some parts of God’s Word offensive. I don’t think the Bible could really be God’s Word if everyone agreed with everything in it. Deuteronomy 28:30-31, 35 is just painful to read. 2 Kings 2:23-25 records a bullying incident. Numbers 31:17-18 is just cruel. And Leviticus 21:17-23 clearly discriminates against those with physical defects. But all of these passages are still God’s Word. Our like or dislike for certain parts of the Bible is not reason for us to ignore it or skip over the “offensive” bits. It certainly isn’t reason for us to disobey the parts that we don’t like.

Jeremiah 11
Focus Verse: The terms I commanded your ancestors when I brought them out of Egypt, out of the iron-smelting furnace.’ I said, ‘Obey me and do everything I command you, and you will be my people, and I will be your God. (4)

We are God’s and God is ours when we obey the commandments He has given us. God will fulfill each and every one of the promises He made to us in His holy Word. If we find that His promises are not being fulfilled in our lives, it might be time to examine our record of obedience. We do not want our relationship with God to be broken as Israel’s covenant with God was broken.

Jeremiah 12
Focus Verse: You are always righteous, Lord, when I bring a case before you. Yet I would speak with you about your justice: Why does the way of the wicked prosper? Why do all the faithless live at ease? (1)

When I was a seven-year-old-just-became-a-Christian kid, I didn’t have a lot of questions for God. My understanding of Him was pretty basic. I was sure I knew everything about Him. I didn’t question how God could be so good and the world so bad. I was one of those “The Bible says it, I believe it and that settles it” kind of kids. Now I’m more of a “The Bible says it, I believe it, but I still have questions” kid. Like Jeremiah, I believe that God is always righteous, yet if I could, I would speak with Him about His justice. We know a lot less about God then I think we realize. Sometimes it is hard to understand why God does the things He does in the way He does them. Our knowledge of Him is not complete and I don’t think it ever will be complete until we see Him face to face.

Acts 27:27-44
Focus Verse: After he said this, he took some bread and gave thanks to God in front of them all. Then he broke it and began to eat. (35)

In the previous passage an angel of God had told Paul, “Do not be afraid, Paul. You must stand trial before Caesar; and God has graciously given you the lives of all who sail with you.” Paul’s faith was shown in action. God had assured him that he was not going to die just yet, so he acted like he was going to survive the storm and the shipwreck. He talked like he was going to survive. And he encouraged his traveling mates to do the same.

One thought on “1 Year In God’s Word: Day 293 — Jeremiah 6, Jeremiah 11-12, Acts 27:27-44

  1. Pingback: Finished! 365 Days, 52 Weeks, 1 Year In God’s Word | The Virtuous Girls

Leave a Reply

