Taylor Swift Theology: Picture to Burn

taylor-swift-picture-to-burn

“Picture to Burn” is the fourth single from Taylor’s 2006 self-titled debut album, Taylor Swift.

Like many of her early songs, the lyrics are about a former high school boyfriend who she never had an official relationship with. Taylor says, “We almost dated. It really bothered me that he was so cocky and that’s where that song came from.” After finding out that said cocky boyfriend is seeing someone else, Taylor channels all her anger at him and all her hate for his stupid old pickup truck into thinking up ways to take revenge on him – namely by striking a match and burning his picture.

State the obvious, I didn’t get my perfect fantasy
I realize you love yourself more than you could ever love me

I hate that stupid old pickup truck
You never let me drive
You’re a redneck heartbreak
Who’s really bad at lying
So watch me strike a match
On all my wasted time
As far as I’m concerned you’re
Just another picture to burn

Having a narcissistic, cocky attitude won’t get us far in life. And we certainly won’t get far in our relationships by loving ourselves more than we love others. If we’re constantly thinking of what we want more than what those around us want and need, people will eventually see us as just another picture to burn. Value others more than yourselves (Philippians 2:3). It really doesn’t matter how smart or how beautiful or how talented we may be, as the popular saying goes, “People don’t care how much you know until they know how much you care.”

On the flip side, however, if we’re the ones who are in the right and someone else has a cocky attitude towards us, revenge isn’t the best way to get even. In the heat of the moment, it’s easy to give in to our feelings and retaliate immediately. But as weak as it may sound, it really is best to leave all vengeance to God.

There’s no time for tears
I’m just sitting here planning my revenge
There’s nothing stopping me
From going out with all of your best friends
And if you come around saying sorry to me
My daddy’s gonna show you how sorry you’ll be

Revenge is an ineffective way to heal from pain. Even Taylor knows this. In a 2011 interview on songwriting, she said, “I had this song called ‘Picture to Burn,’ that’s talking about how ‘I hate your truck,’ and ‘I hate that you ignored me,’ ‘I hate you.’ Now, the way that I would say that and the way that I would feel that kind of pain is a lot different.”

Hate isn’t healthy. At the same time, we shouldn’t pretend that we don’t feel negative vibes that stem from some broken relationship or hurtful remark. It’s important for us to recognize and acknowledge them, but as we mature emotionally and spiritually, we don’t have to let hate control us or dictate our actions toward those who hurt us.

Read the full lyrics on Genius. Watch the music video below:

One thought on “Taylor Swift Theology: Picture to Burn

  1. Pingback: Taylor Swift Theology: Beautiful Eyes | The Virtuous Girls

Leave a Reply

