Taylor Swift Theology: A Place In This World

a-place-in-this-world-taylor-swift

“A Place In This World” is the fourth track from Taylor’s 2006 self-titled debut album, Taylor Swift.

The lyrics perfectly describe how every girl might feel at some point in her life.

I don’t know what I want, so don’t ask me
Cause I’m still trying to figure it out

Sometimes we think we know exactly who we are and what we want from life, but most of the time we are questioning ourselves. We either envy or admire those who seem to have life figured out; but the truth is, one can never correctly or completely figure out the complexity of life without computing God into their equation.

Divorce. Disease. Death. Heartbreak. Failure. These are real problems that real people deal with. It’s hard to make sense of it all without believing that there is Someone who is able to bring good out of every bad situation. When we recognize that God is in control, we also recognize that it’s okay to not be okay. We don’t have to have everything figured out to live the life we were given to live.

Don’t know what’s down this road, I’m just walking
Trying to see through the rain coming down
Even though I’m not the only one
Who feels the way I do

In our faith journey, we often don’t know what’s down the road or around the next bend. That’s why it takes faith to keep walking, to keep following Christ even when you don’t know where He is leading you. Martin Luther King Jr. said, “Faith is taking the first step even when you can’t see the whole staircase.” Tomorrow may be a mystery to us, but it is not a mystery to God.

I’m alone, on my own, and that’s all I know
I’ll be strong, I’ll be wrong, oh but life goes on
Oh, I’m just a girl, trying to find a place in this world

In Taylor’s song, she is walking alone and on her own. When we are walking with Christ, however, we are never alone. He is always near us. We have His promise that He will never leave or forsake us.

Read the full lyrics on Genius. Listen to the song below:

Leave a Reply

