New Testament In a Year: June 6 – John 17

new-testament-in-a-year-june-6

John 17
(1-26) The High Priestly Prayer
Jesus the Christ is our high priest. Before He left His disciples, He prayed for them and for us. Since His departure, He has not stopped praying for us. Christ is sitting at the right hand of God and is interceding for us each and every day.

Jesus told His Father, “I glorified you on earth, having accomplished the work that you gave me to do.” At the end of my life, I hope that I will be able to say the same. I hope that I will be able to say I have accomplished the work that God gave me to do and have glorified Christ on earth with my life. I hope that I will be able to say I used everything God gave me to use.

Christ is no longer in the world (physically). But He is in the world (spiritually) through us. Christ knows how tough it is to be in the world, which is why He is praying for God to keep us in His name so that we will remain one with Him. He does not want one of us to be lost. He wants His joy to be fulfilled in us. Christ is not praying for us to be taken out of the world, but for us not to become the world. We are Christ’s hands and feet, and if we are taken out, how will the world know of His love? We have been sent into the world for the same purpose that God sent His Son into the world: to seek and to save that which was lost.

Favorite verse: (9) I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours.

Leave a Reply

