Taylor Swift Theology: Mary’s Song (Oh My My My)

taylor-swift-marys-song

“Mary’s Song (Oh My My My)” is the tenth track from Taylor’s 2006 self-titled debut album, Taylor Swift.

This song was inspired by her next-door neighbors, their long-lasting marriage and the love they had for one another.

She said, I was seven and you were nine
I looked at you like the stars that shined
In the sky, the pretty lights
And our daddies used to joke about the two of us
Growing up and falling in love and our mamas smiled
And rolled their eyes and said oh my my my

When they first meet each other, they are just kids. The girl admires the boy a lot, and compares him to the stars shining in the sky. Their parents notice the special friendship they have, and joke that they will grow up and fall in love, but they don’t really believe it will happen.

Well, I was sixteen when suddenly
I wasn’t that little girl you used to see
But your eyes still shined like pretty lights
And our daddies used to joke about the two of us
They never believed we’d really fall in love
And our mamas smiled and rolled their eyes
And said oh my my my

Now, the boy and girl aren’t kids anymore. They are all grown up and are really in love, even though their parents never believed it would happen. Several long years have passed, but the girl still admires the boy and still compares him to the “pretty lights” of the stars.

Take me back to the time when we walked down the aisle
Our whole town came and our mamas cried
You said I do and I did too
Take me home where we met so many years before
We’ll rock our babies on that very front porch
After all this time, you and I

They have their first fight, and survive. Now they’re getting married. This boy and girl were already committed to one another before they got married, but saying “I do” made their commitment official. A traditional marriage vow goes something like this: Before God, do you take this man/woman to be your lawfully wedded husband/wife; to have and to hold from this day forward; for better or for worse, for richer or for poorer, in sickness and in health; to love, honour and cherish; and forsaking all others, do you promise to be faithful to them as long as you both shall live?

Saying “I do” to the above vow, signifies that a person is promising to stay committed and faithful to their spouse for life. The couple recognizes that marriage is a beautiful gift created by God and meant to be a permanent union. In good times and in bad times, whether rich or poor, whether sick or healthy, the boy and girl promise to love, honor, and cherish one another. They promise to forsake all others, and remain faithful and true to one another for as long as they live. They look forward to their future (the girl makes plans to return home where they met so many years ago, so they can rock their babies on that same front porch); but they also expect to face challenges and are willing to work through them together.

I’ll be eighty-seven; you’ll be eighty-nine
I’ll still look at you like the stars that shine
In the sky, oh my my my

Fast forward many years later, and we see that the boy and girl have kept their vow and are still committed to one another. When they first met, the girl was seven and the boy was nine. Now, the girl is eighty-seven and the boy is eighty-nine. Even after all this time, they still love one another just as much as they did when they were just kids. When she looks at him, the girl still compares him to the stars that shine.

Not many people stay together forever these days, but this song depicts a beautiful love story of two people who remained committed to one another for almost a lifetime.

Read the full lyrics on Genius. Listen to the song below:

Leave a Reply

