Taylor Swift Theology: Our Song

our-song-taylor-swift

“Our Song” is the eleventh and last track and the third single from Taylor’s 2006 self-titled debut album, Taylor Swift.

Taylor Swift wrote this song for a talent show when she was in high school, about a boyfriend who she didn’t have a song with. In sharing the story behind the song, Taylor said:

I wrote this song in my freshman year of high school, for my ninth grade talent show. So I was sitting there thinking, “I’ve gotta write a song that’s gonna relate to everyone in the talent show, and it’s gotta be upbeat.” And at that time, I was dating a guy, and we didn’t have a song. So I went ahead and wrote us one, and I played it at the talent show at the end of the year.

“Our Song” tells of how Taylor wants a way to remember this significant person in her life. Since music is her thing, she thinks a song would be the best way for them to remember one another by.

I was riding shotgun with my hair undone
In the front seat of his car
He’s got a one-hand feel on the steering wheel
The other on my heart
I look around, turn the radio down
He says, “Baby is something wrong?”
I say, “Nothing, I was just thinking
How we don’t have a song”
And he says

So, Taylor’s boyfriend begins to reminisce about small, but positive events in their lives: the slamming screen door, sneaking out late, talking on the phone, laughter, and a first date.

Our song is the slamming screen door
Sneakin’ out late, tapping on your window
When we’re on the phone and you talk real slow
Cause it’s late and your mama don’t know
Our song is the way you laugh
The first date: “Man, I didn’t kiss her, and I should have”
And when I got home ‘fore I said amen
Asking God if he could play it again

When Taylor has a really bad day, a note with the lyrics of the song she shares with her boyfriend cheers her up.

I was walking up the front porch steps
After everything that day
Had gone all wrong and been trampled on
And lost and thrown away
Got to the hallway, well on my way
To my lovin’ bed
I almost didn’t notice all the roses
And the note that said

Unlike some of her other songs, this one is about a relationship that doesn’t seem to have a lot of negativity. The most serious problem that they have is not having a song, which is quickly remedied when they make one up by remembering good things they have experienced together. How will we be remembered by our family, friends, and others who know us? Will they remember us for positive things that we have done or negative things? Whether we mean to or not, everyone leaves an imprint of their lives – for good or bad – on those around them.

I was riding shotgun with my hair undone
In the front seat of his car
I grabbed a pen and an old napkin
And I wrote down our song

People may remember us through a song, a story, or a speech. Whatever it may be, let’s make sure the legacy they remember us by is a good one.

Read the full lyrics on Genius. Watch/listen to the song below:

2 thoughts on “Taylor Swift Theology: Our Song

  1. Pingback: Taylor Swift Theology: Beautiful Eyes | The Virtuous Girls

  2. Pingback: The Virtuous Girl » Blog Archive Taylor Swift Theology: Beautiful Eyes

Leave a Reply

