New Testament In a Year: September 2 – 1 Corinthians 14:1-20

new-testament-in-a-year-september-2

1 Corinthians 14:1-20
(1-20) Prophecy and Tongues
Before pursuing spiritual gifts, we are first to pursue love. We should seek to love God and then reflect God’s love by loving others. As said so eloquently in the previous chapter (13), love is the greatest gift.

Paul says that prophecy is greater than speaking in tongues, because no one is able to understand those who speak in tongues unless they have an interpreter. Our gifts should not be used in a mysterious fashion, but should be used in a manner that will edify and encourage others. When we are around other believers, it is not always enough for only us to understand what we are doing and saying for God. Others should be able to comprehend it too.

Favorite verse: (15) What am I to do? I will pray with my spirit, but I will pray with my mind also; I will sing praise with my spirit, but I will sing with my mind also.

Leave a Reply

