New Testament In a Year: December 14 – Revelation 6


Revelation 6
(1-17) The Seven Seals
The opening of the seven seals reveals God’s judgment on earth. The first seal shows a white horse which signifies a time of conquering. The second seal shows a red horse which signifies war, instead of peace. The third seal shows a black horse which signifies a time of financial and food scarcity on earth. The fourth seal shows a pale horse which signifies death by sword, by famine, by pestilence, and by wild beasts.

The opening of the fifth seal reveals the souls of those who have been martyred for their faith in Jesus the Christ. These souls cry out, wondering: how long it will be before the Lord judges those who killed them? They are told to rest a little longer, because even more Christians must be killed for their faith before the Lord avenges their blood.

The opening of the sixth seal causes a great earthquake that makes the sun go black, the moon go blood-red, the stars fall to earth, and the sky vanish like a scroll. Nothing in the cosmos is as it should be. All people who do not believe in God – whether rich or poor, slave or free – seek to hide from the great glory and the terrible wrath of the Lord. No one is able to stand before it.

Favorite verse: (13) And the stars of the sky fell to the earth as the fig tree sheds its winter fruit when shaken by a gale.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s