Old Testament In a Year: April 30 – 1 Samuel 19; Psalms 23, 59

1 Samuel 19; Psalms 23, 59
Focus Verse: The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. – Psalm 23:1

Do you ever wonder what David was doing while he was on the run from jealous King Saul? He wasn’t thinking of ways to get rid of Saul. No. David’s mind was on God. He was trusting in Him for protection and deliverance from Saul.

When Saul sent men to watch David’s house in order to kill him (this event is detailed in 1 Samuel 19:11-17), David wasn’t pacing the floor, agonizing with Michal about why her father hated him so much. David was calling on God to deliver him from his enemies, a composition that would later come to be Psalm 59. In addition to calling for deliverance, David was also singing of the strength and steadfast love of God. Amid his distress, he praised God for being a fortress and a refuge.

David believed that the Lord was his Shepherd. Therefore, he had nothing to fear.

What about you? Psalm 23 is a popular Scripture, but is it a personal Scripture? Is the Lord only David’s Shepherd or do you believe that He is also your Shepherd? The Lord was not only with David. He is also with you. He was not only able to defeat David’s enemies and give David goodness, mercy, and blessing. He is able to do the same for you.

To you, God says:

My dear child,

I am your shepherd; therefore, you shall not want.
I will give you rest in green pastures.
I will lead you beside still waters.
I will restore your soul.
I will lead you in paths of righteousness for My name’s sake.
Even when you walk through the valley of the shadow of death, you do not have to fear any evil, for I am with you; My rod and My staff, will comfort you.
I will prepare a table before you in the presence of your enemies; I will anoint your head with oil; and I will make your cup overflow.
My goodness and My mercy will surely follow you all the days of your life, and you will dwell in My house forever.

Love,
Your Eternal Shepherd

Leave a Reply

