Old Testament In a Year: May 6 – 1 Samuel 28, 29

1 Samuel 28, 29
Focus Verse: When Saul saw the army of the Philistines, he was afraid, and his heart trembled greatly. – 1 Samuel 28:5

Saul was not afraid because the Philistines were gathering together to fight against Israel. He had fought against the Philistines before. He had seen David and his son, Jonathan, fight against the Philistines before. He knew they could be defeated. Saul was afraid because God was not with him. He felt alone. He felt weak and powerless. He trembled because God was not listening to him or talking to him or directing him in the way that he should go. In his disobedience, stubbornness, and pride, Saul had turned His back on God, and now in his moment of distress, God would not help him.

There are several verses in Scripture that remind you not to be afraid or anxious about anything, and each of these verses have something in common. Each of them speak against being afraid because of one reason – God.

Isaiah 41:10 says, “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Why do you not have to fear? Because God is with you. Why do you not have to be dismayed? Because God is your God and He is able to strengthen you, help you, and uphold you.

Psalm 23:4 says, “Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.”

Why do you not have to fear any evil? Because God is with you.

Joshua 1:9 says, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Why can you be strong and courageous? Why do you not have to be terrified or discouraged? Because God is with you wherever you go.

Isaiah 41:13-14 says, “For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you. Do not be afraid, for I myself will help you, declares the Lord, your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel.”

Why do you not have to fear? Because God is holding your right hand. He is with you. Why do you not have to be afraid? Because God Himself will help you.

Psalm 118:6-7 says, “The Lord is with me; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me? The Lord is with me; he is my helper.”

Why do you not have to be afraid? Because God is with you. Why do you not have to fear the hurtful things that people can do to you? Because God is your helper.

Because God is with you, you have no reason to be afraid of anything. But if God ceased being with you as He ceased being with Saul, then you have every reason to fear and be terrified and discouraged. Facing turmoil, struggles, anxiety, and the worries of life alone is a very scary thing.

But the good news is that you do not have to face it alone. If you turn to God, He will strengthen, help, and hold you through whatever you face. He will be with you and will never leave you. He will give you His strength to live fearlessly and boldly in this world.

Do not fear, God says, for I am with you. I am in front of you and behind you and beside you. You are mine. I care for you.

Leave a Reply

